The School Newspaper of Cherry Hill High School East


The School Newspaper of Cherry Hill High School East


The School Newspaper of Cherry Hill High School East


Eastside wins fourth straight Distinguished Journalism Award


Yesterday Eastside was awarded the Distinguished Journalism Award of New Jersey by the Garden State Scholastic Press Association for the fourth year in a row.  The conference and ceremony was moved from late October to yesterday due to the storm.

Of the 12 categories, Eastside took home nine first places. 

All printed and online material from the 2011-2012 school year was eligible for scoring. 

Here is a list of the individual award winners:

Story continues below advertisement

FIRST PLACE: Feature Writing – Jack Braunstein (’13) for story on two student rappers
FIRST PLACE: In-Depth Reporting – Jake Fischer (’12) and Emmy Silverman (’13) for swimming double truck
FIRST PLACE: Opinion Writing — Juliet Brooks (’13) for opinion piece on drinking
FIRST PLACE: Columns — Rachel Tinkelman (’13) for “From the Cinereel” columns
FIRST PLACE: Entertainment/Reviews — Jack Braunstein (’13) for St. Vincent album review (online)
FIRST PLACE: Artwork/Illustrations – Diana Li (’12) for horseback riding art (online color issue)
FIRST PLACE: Photography – Becca Mulberg (’12) for Countrymen crowd surfing photo (online gallery)
FIRST PLACE: Editorial Cartooning – Joel Greenspan (’13) for college admissions cartoon
FIRST PLACE: Design/Layout – Jack Braunstein (’13), Hannah Feinberg (’12) and Mia Holley (’12) for “The Game” layout

SECOND PLACE: Feature Writing – Sherin Nassar (’13) for story on alum Eric Goldberg (Disney artist)
SECOND PLACE: Sports Writing – Jake Fischer (’12) for story on alum Rick Lancellotti
SECOND PLACE: In-Depth Reporting – Max Cohen (’12), Hailey Edelstein (’12) and Eric Kessler (’12) for charter school front page
SECOND PLACE: Artwork/Illustrations – Joel Greenspan (’13) for comic book front page of senior issue
SECOND PLACE: Editorial Cartooning – Joel Greenspan (’13) for “Anger Management” (Angry Birds) cartoon

THIRD PLACE: Columns – Kyle Bigley (’13) for his political columns
THIRD PLACE: Becca Mulberg (’12) for basketball action shot (online and in photo spread)
THIRD PLACE: Entertainment/Reviews – Nick Mitchell (’13) for Of Montreal album review
THIRD PLACE: Editorials – Eastside Editorial Board for editorial on SGA voting

HONORABLE MENTION: In-Depth Reporting – Hailey Edelstein (’12), Sherin Nassar (’13), Danielle Fox (’13), Diana Li (’12) and Prashasti Awadhiya (’12) for front page and double truck on germs
HONORABLE MENTION: Design/Layout – Hailey Edelstein (’12), Sherin Nassar (’13) and Danielle Fox (’13) for biking front page
HONORABLE MENTION: Photography – Mia Holley (’12) for Robotics Club photo
HONORABLE MENTION: Amy Myers (’13) for horse meat opinion
HONORABLE MENTION: Amy Myers (’13) for U.S. infrastructure gap

Leave a Comment

Comments (0)

All Eastside Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *